Stress and the Paleo Lifestyle

If someone had told me this time last year that I would no longer eat bread, drink milk, eat cheese or eat sugar I would have said they were smoking something strong that wasn’t a cigarette.  But here I am, off of all of that stuff by 95% and I don’t miss it – except when I’m stressed and that’s just a bit right now. 

We’ve had a bad cold we’ve passed around to each other and this is day 3 for me.  It sucks.  It’s one of those colds that prevents you from breathing all night and when you finally find a position that is comfortable where you can breathe, it’s time to get up.  So not only are you exhausted but you also can’t move too fast because then the cough hits and it doesn’t stop until you have a hot cup of tea – even the mighty Ricola cough drop doesn’t stop it. 

I took off Monday and Tuesday and went back to work today.  Oh how I would love to vent about work here but I will not – at least not too much.  Needless to say, a coughing spell hit and wham – I got the LOOK from a coworker.  Excuse the fluck out of me!  Then my boss suggests that I might want to stay home tomorrow.  WTF!  I cover my mouth, use plenty of tissues, spray my cube with Lysol and I’m on medicine prescribed from my doctor.  If only my best friend still worked with me….sigh…I feel like I have no one to talk to at work anymore and it’s not fun.  Don’t you think that a place where you spend most of your waking days should be at least a little fun?  Let’s see….I’ll name my coworkers after the seven dwarfs….the one who gave me the LOOK – we’ll call her Grumpy because she is as mean and anti-social as they get.  Dopey will have to go to the only guy left in my department – think Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure and you’ll understand.  Was there a Nosey Dwarf?  Well there is now and she is not in my department but she sits on the other side of our cubes and listens to all of our conversations and tosses her opinion over on every topic.  My boss would have to be Happy Dwarf – let’s all be nice and follow the rules and play fair.  The last dwarf would be another new one – Skeptic Dwarf – never believes anything anyone says and is always looking for the con.  Then there’s me – I’m Sleepy Dwarf because of my narcolepsy lol….

Enough fun – as Grumpy Dwarf would say! So then I get home and receive a text from my mom saying that she had to take my dad to the ER because he was having trouble breathing.  He’s had a chest xray, blood drawn, and a healthy dose of prednisone.  UPDATE:  He has pneumonia.  They are sending him home with lots of meds and he has to rest so I will be taking today off to take care of Spuddy for them. 

To get to my point in this post, what I want right now is a nice, big doughnut.  Not a fluffy one full of air, like Dunkin Donuts…I want a heavy one, full of cream and fried in grease and slathered with icing so thick it’s easily an inch thick.  I think Spuddy and I will go to the Amish Market today and try to find one to share lol. 

About Mama Dawnee

Hi! I'm Dawn, a web developer by day, mama to my handsome son, 3 dogs and 2 cats, a wife, a home maker, a DIY enthusiast and a deal searching blogger in my free time. I've lived in Maryland all my life and I love to travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

