Paleo and Birthdays for 4 year olds Don’t Mix

It has been a tough weekend in my house as our son turns 4 and we struggle to accept that we are losing our baby and not much weight.  We were eating more fruits and veggies than we ever had and that turned out to be the problem.  I usually started my day with a banana at 6am – when I arrive at work – and have another one for a snack around 11am.  Little did I realize how many carbs are in bananas – 55 grams in the two!- and with us trying to stick with around 100-200 grams a day we were blowing our goal out of the water when we added in the carrots, brocolli and potatoes.  Ok, so we realized the problem and we can fix it by adding in more greens and less of the foods we are accustomed to.  Saturday was our sons bday party and my mom bought a sheet cake – I have a serious cake addiction.  Not only did I eat what everyone left on their plate when they were gone but also two slices and more later that night.  Basically I have eaten it all weekend and I feel disgusted with myself for not just trashing the leftovers. I have had no problem avoiding the chips, pretzels, doritoes or cheese curls.  Even the 12 cups of ice cream I have left are in the freezer, untouched,  because no one wanted any after the rich, delicious whipped topping cake passed their lips.  Ok, I made a mistake and that doesn’t mean I order footlong cheesesteaks, fries and an xlarge pizza – yes that was our normal weekend dinner (sometimes twice a weekend).  It means I get my butt in the kitchen and cook some good food and toss that damn cake.

I also had a doctor appointment to get my meds refilled this morning and what I thought would be a happy visit with my dr turned a little scary.  First, my weight was up 2 pounds over my last visit there before Christmas.  Second, my blood pressure was 159/106 – not good.  Third, when she saw that she immediately called the nurse to have her do an EKG on my heart.  She told me that no matter what my weight, due to my family history of high blood pressure we would always have to keep an eye on that.  Luckily, my heart came back normal and when I explained to her what we were doing with the paleo change and told her we were starting yoga next week, she was ecstatic.  She said she would see me in June and do bloodwork then.  That it was the best news she has heard from me ever.  And that it was the first time in she didn’t know how long that I was there and I wasn’t sick – I looked good.  I actually felt good, cake guilt aside, and left smiling….from my drs office….first time ever for that too lol….

About Mama Dawnee

Hi! I'm Dawn, a web developer by day, mama to my handsome son, 3 dogs and 2 cats, a wife, a home maker, a DIY enthusiast and a deal searching blogger in my free time. I've lived in Maryland all my life and I love to travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

