Whole30 Costco Trip

I know I am not the only person to bitch about this but WHY is it so expensive to eat healthy?  In the past I could feed our family of 3 on $50 or less.  Tell me why we had to spend $359.29 at Costco? I wish I was kidding.  However, as I sit here and stare at everything that still needs to find a home somewhere in my fridge, pantry aka shelves in our garage, and cabinets, I know I am feeling better than I have in a long time and as I told DW today, let’s remember the NutriSystem debacle.

In January of 2008 DW needed to lose weight before she could get pregnant.  Her mom suggested NS so we joined.  It was about $600 a month for their food and then we had to buy MORE food on top of it to go along with it – which ended up being another $300 or more a month.  DW did lose the weight she needed after 2 months on the program and we stuck by a healthier diet throughout conception, pregnancy and right up until about the month she gave birth in March, 2009.  We went hog wild that month trying everything we could to get her to go into labor.  The only thing that worked – and we’ve never told a soul we did this lol – was going to a Chinese restaurant called PF Chang’s and ordering a ridiculous amount of food.  It didn’t exactly put her into labor but it raised her blood pressure enough that they put her on bed rest.  No, our boy missed his due date by a week and then all 10 pounds, 4oz of him had to be pulled out via cesarean. I digress….so we were spending almost $1000 a month on NS for the two of us and when I look at what we bought today and compare it to that, I may be bitching for nothing.  I just added up everything that wasn’t food or wasn’t for us – we bought a friend a bottle of joint medicine, stocked up on cold meds for us and Spud and bought him a few things he just had to have – a $13.49 Spiderman towel – and all of those things came to around $136.  That means that we spent $223 on food which will last us 3-4 weeks with a $50 shopping trip in between for fresh fruits, veggies and misc.  It’s a little more than $50 a week but it’s far less than $1000 and I’m going to stop talking about it now.

Back to the kitchen.  I have 2 dozen eggs boiling, 2 pork roasts cooking in the crock pot, 2 pans of bacon fresh out of the oven and I really need to start chopping fruits.  Oh, and I made a pot of chicken, broccoli and carrots with bacon and packed our lunches for Monday and Tuesday.  Not too shabby…

About Mama Dawnee

Hi! I'm Dawn, a web developer by day, mama to my handsome son, 3 dogs and 2 cats, a wife, a home maker, a DIY enthusiast and a deal searching blogger in my free time. I've lived in Maryland all my life and I love to travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

