Pajama and Movie Night

I know everyone thinks their child is brilliant but seriously, our son is scary smart.  He is also highly opinionated and believes that he knows how to do everything already.  At age three he is almost 4 feet tall and weighs almost 70 pounds – he is the size of a  7 year old.  Anyway, I digress.

Our baby!

Our baby!

He informed my parents, who watch him during the day while my DW (Dear Wife) and I work, that it was pajama and movie night at our house.  Cool with me because God knows I love my pajamas and a good movie is just the icing on the cake ranch dressing to my salad.  So, I pick him up from my parents and take him to Redner’s Grocery store.  On our way there we called mommy and she told him he could pick out anything he wanted at the store for us to eat.  Lord, help me now lol. What were we thinking?  Thirty minutes later I am standing in the self-checkout line – I hate going to a cashier lol – as Spuddy scans – yes he knows how to do this – the food JUNK we will be eating tonight.  I’m almost embarrassed to admit that I spent $85 and the only healthy thing in our cart was a bunch of bananas and a gallon of LIGHT Moose Tracks ice cream which I’m not even sure qualifies as healthy.   I have to keep in mind this is not a quick fix.  We have to control our portions.  Then it’s time to find a movie and we go to the Netflix kiosk at the entrance to Redner’s and look for Hotel Transylvania.  Their out of it so I load everything in my car and drive him to Royal Farms and their Netflix machine which usually has everything. We’re in luck and they have it!

Mommy arrived home 2 hours later and we had a great pajama party.  We didn’t overeat and kept to a normal portion of Italian sub, chips and cookies.  We shared popcorn and then Spuddy fell asleep around 8.  The movie was great and I was happy because even with the junk food in the house, we stayed focused.  This is a lifestyle change, not a crash diet.  We had junk this time but next time I will encourage better food for him to choose, not give him carte blanche of the grocery store lol….ah, you live and learn as a mama…

About Mama Dawnee

Hi! I'm Dawn, a web developer by day, mama to my handsome son, 3 dogs and 2 cats, a wife, a home maker, a DIY enthusiast and a deal searching blogger in my free time. I've lived in Maryland all my life and I love to travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

