Saying Goodbye to a Buddy

The one emotion that can make me scarf down an order of fries, chocolate shake and two big mac’s is sadness and I am sad today.  My best friend from work, Brandon, is moving to Florida to be closer to his wife’s family.

brandonritadogs

My buddy and his family

Brandon is the kind of friend everyone should be lucky enough to have once in their life.  He has brain cancer but is in remission….but his is not a sad tale full of sorrow and struggle and pain.  He lives every single day like it’s a gift.  His medicine is humor and no less than 4 times a day we would walk from our 5th floor office to his truck, turn on the heated seats, and listen to comedians – or funny songs – or watch funny movies – and smoke.  His outlook is that if the cancer hasn’t killed him why worry about the cigarettes.

If you’re having a bad day he might buy you breakfast or sneak a candy bar on your desk.  For me, he dances lol.  I’m not talking the foxtrot here I’m talking silly dances he has made up where he flings himself through the air and waddles like a penguin.  He has done a cartwheel in a freight elevator, pushed me into hundreds of walls and doors (it’s funny as hell when you’re not expecting it), and leaves smiley faces on my board before I come in.

We can talk about anything and everything and he loves it when “the homosexual calls him a fag” as he puts it when he says girly things like doily or talks about his appearance.  We can both appreciate the occasional pretty woman we see and if you have to go to the bathroom (#2), it’s ok to talk about.

If that isn’t enough, he has the biggest most generous heart of anyone I’ve ever met.

Today was his going away lunch and he wanted to go to Dave and Buster’s – has anyone seen their menu????  I wanted to eat one of everything and wash it all down with several cocktails but I didn’t.  I ordered their baked BBQ chicken, broccoli and potatoes and washed it down with unsweetened iced tea.  Then I bought a game card and kicked his ass at skeeball.

I’ve known he was going to leave since last June but today is the first day I have let it sink in and tomorrow is our last day working together and I am very, very sad, inspired and in awe to have been lucky enough to have had him as my best male friend work husband and biggest supporter for my marriage/lifestyle/career/motherhood.  Dear friend, you will be missed.

About Mama Dawnee

Hi! I'm Dawn, a web developer by day, mama to my handsome son, 3 dogs and 2 cats, a wife, a home maker, a DIY enthusiast and a deal searching blogger in my free time. I've lived in Maryland all my life and I love to travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

